Stayed Up Too Late Helping With The Owl’s Museum

This is Day 28 of #MarchusAnnus challange

Let me start with, it’s all Nintendo’s fault.

There is a good reason that I don’t have anymore On the Edge of Sight today.

Oh, you don’t believe me? That’s fine, don’t believe me, I don’t believe me either. However, if it wasn’t for Animal Crossing: New Horizons I would have gotten to bed at an acceptable hour last night. I would have gotten enough sleep, and I wouldn’t have a headache right now.

That might be an exaggeration. If it wasn’t Animal Crossing it probably would have been Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild, on Master Mode. But thanks to the newest wholesome bit of entertainment, from the fairy godmothers of the video game industry, I was up late creating tiles for a plaza to go around Blathers’s museum.

Now I get that some people who read this might not know what I’m on about, but you should. You really should.

It’s this, coupled with an active one and a half year old and an opinionated five year old that is taking most of my time today. In fact I’m writing this on my phone, a few words typed with every little break in the action. Did I mention that the younger one decided it would be a good idea to wake at 3 in the morning, and again at 5.

Combine the inevitabilities of children with a highly customizable world filled with cute animal neighbors and puns for days. That is why it’s Nintendo’s fault. Besides the almost two dozen patterns I created to make bordered plaza tiles of all configurations, there are also two fish I haven’t caught that leave the northern hemisphere at the end of March.

Yet I love it. I love how wholesome it is, I love that I can share it with my children and my wife.

I also love getting out of debt, doesn’t everyone, and then getting back into debt; curse my capitalist consumerism ways. On top of that I love to fill the source of my debt with things, as one should. Things with varying degrees of usefulness. In the case of Animal Crossing, mostly useless. In the meantime I’m working my adorable, little, island butt off making the museum happen, making the local shop a reality, and furnishing the homes of future residents to my island. All for the purpose of progress, or more useless stuff.

The best part of all, it’s really up to you, as the player. How hectic versus how chill the game can be all has to do with a reflection of how you play it. It was the same when I played Animal Crossing on the Gamecube back in the day. Needless to say I’m satisfied with the thought that my nights will be a little more sleepless going forward, since I’m still writing On the Edge of Sight.

I know one thing for certain, I’m cutting back my post frequency a bit after March. Something like 2 to 3 times a week, with more of my writing process and larger On the Edge of Sight posts. It’s really an effort to focus on writing On the Edge of Sight to completion. I need to complete an outline, then the story board so I can get the story fully fleshed out.

Anyway, I’m looking forward to a looming thunderstorm as I finish this up. Everyone stay safe, stay at home if you can, stay healthy, and stay tuned.


There have been 28 day(s) since the last non-creation day. This marks 28 consecutive day(s) of posting for #MarchusAnnus. #UnusAnnus #MomentoMori. Check out UnusAnnus and subscribe to their channel before it’s too late.

If you like this post, please share the link anywhere you like, and consider following, liking, and leaving a comment with what you think or any ideas.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.