On the Edge of Sight: Part 12

Plus a little internal debate

This is Day 26 of #MarchusAnnus challange. A little more On the Edge of Sight. Links to the other parts are available at the bottom of this post.

Miles led them over to the checkout counter, then pointed towards the window. “It looks like standard B&E,” he shifts his focus to the aisle directly opposing the checkout counter, “followed by petty theft.” Miles put his hands back down and turned to face Ray, who was not impressed with the recount of the situation. In fact, he was quite stone-faced. Miles was trying to lead Ray into his own line of thinking.

“All right, that’s all very clear,” Ray’s gears began to turn, “now why did you call me out here?”

All at once the mischievous smile and color drained from Miles’s face. Though he was leading Ray to that question, Miles’s was not at all excited with giving the answer. His reticence was noticeable, and Ray was growing more impatient by the second.

“Spit it out old man,” Ray pushed.

Miles gestured towards the back of the store and said, “it’s what’s on the security footage,” his tone was now timid.

Ray thought to himself, “what could make Miles this uneasy?” He followed Miles to the back room, and was soon to find out.


This is where the debate comes in. I know this is extremely short, and I have a, I won’t say good, reason for that. I’m having this internal debate on whether to continue the scene from here or transition to Price’s first day of classes at RVU. The bigger problem is that I’m fighting a headache, still need to mow the lawn, and have yet to decide how exciting or boring class will be for Price.

On one hand having an exciting, e.g. things don’t “exactly” follow the syllabus (i.e. things go horribly awry), could create wonderful filler and potential character and plot development. On the other hand, it’s his first day at the new university (in my experience, relatively uneventful, but my experience is limited) and it might feel like far too much is going on for it to have been right under everyone’s nose for weeks.

So I’m going to go about my mundane responsibilities, to include mowing the lawn while listening to heavy metal. I know that there is no possible way I’ll be able to do that without thinking about it, so I’m sure I’ll come up with something, but this is all I’m posting today. I do apologize about how short it is, I’ll try to make it up to anyone reading this by consolidating all the parts into a single post, soon.


There have been 25 day(s) since the last non-creation day. This marks 25 consecutive day(s) of posting for #MarchusAnnus. #UnusAnnus #MomentoMori. Check out UnusAnnus and subscribe to their channel before it’s too late.

If you’re liking this story, please share the link anywhere you like, and consider following, liking, and leaving a comment with what you think or any ideas.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.